Something old, something new, something borrowed, something bluewater

Tomorrow I trade my old roommate for my new roommate. Well, she’s kind of a long-term loan. One of my coolest friends from Florida is coming for 4 months of Hawaii living.

In case you are interested, you earn the title of “coolest” when I call you and say “I need a roommate for 4 months, are you doing anything?” and you respond with “…sure, I will move 4,713 miles away to live with you.” Now, you need to understand that this is the second time this has happened. That is why my friend Erin (we were made to be friends), is “one of” my coolest friends. It may be hard to believe but this is indeed the second time I have convinced a kind-hearted and loyal best friend to uproot her life and move from coast to way off the coast for me.

That one ended up staying three years (Thank you, Lindsey). But if any member of Roommate Erin’s family is reading this, I’m only borrowing her for four months.

I would also like to say here that Roommate Erin’s family and Lindsey’s family have been some of my family’s strongest arms and most fervent interceders for Mom. I would like to honor them to whoever reads this blog and say thank you for standing with us in the fight of our lives. Jesus is faithful.

I am very happy to be getting my borrowed roommate because I have discovered over the past two weeks that I stink at living alone. I would have to say I am afraid of being alone. Yes, another fear to conquer. It’s okay that I don’t want to live alone – it is not okay to be afraid of being alone. So, I am looking forward to Jesus changing that in me. I am looking forward to learning the feeling of his presence when there’s not a soul in sight and my house is really windy and I wish everything would stop making weird noises. I have to be willing to be alone to go out to the depths that Jesus wants me in and to learn to relax and float. Jesus is there – in the old, in the new, in the borrowed, in the bluewater!

One thought on “Something old, something new, something borrowed, something bluewater

  1. Lindsey says:

    So techno-savvy me just figured out how to find the archive and catch up on your blog. How excited was I to discover that I not only received mention but also my very own picture in this esteemed publication? Love it (and you and your writings).

Leave a Reply

