“I get lost in the language…words like thither, mischance, felicity.”

Confession: I have watched You’ve Got Mail 200 times. The star Kathleen Kelly gets lost in the language of Austen and I have rediscovered the joys of Jane this week as well. I have never read Northanger Abbey and I am thoroughly enjoying it. Reading books by familiar authors has a comforting, nostalgic feel that makes me wish I could read for hours and then go play outside until the streetlight turns on. Nostalgia is a mean thing though. It only feels nice for a second and then it turns on you in a jiffy. So you got to be careful.

Here is something else that Jane reminds me of: times when I didn’t read a cellphone. Has anyone else noticed that they have lost the art of getting lost in a book because there is an iPhone asking for you? I recognize the irony of writing this in a blog but I am grateful to Jane for reminding me to unplug WAY more. I’ve left my phone behind a lot lately. It’s awesome. Try it.

My four days in Kona with family and best friend-family has made me unplug, relax, and be happy with how things are. I have a beautiful family, wonderful friends, and a good God. Everything is going to be just fine.

I’m going to go get lost in some language.

 

 

 

Tagged ,

One thought on ““I get lost in the language…words like thither, mischance, felicity.”

  1. katie johnson says:

    so glad that you are unplugging and relaxing erin:)

Leave a Reply

