Twenty-Right.

I am two weeks away from being 29. I am taking stock of the year a little earlier than usual. I will go ahead and get the obvious out of the way – saddest year yet. But in the midst of it, I have been given grace, joy, comfort, and even straight up happy times.

28 is a great age. When you are single and you tell people you are 28, they will often say “Wow, what a great time of life. Enjoy it. You have PLENTY of time for marriage and family.” Which basically means they think you have two years. I’ve loved being 28.

At 28, I became a nurse and began the process of becoming a nurse practitioner. I got a killer scholarship and lots of help in finding a job when I graduate. I collected a small storage-unit full of non-particle board furniture and adulty things like throw rugs and dishes I actually want to keep.

I owned these for a year before noticing them on the wall of Claire's kitchen in Modern Family. My plates are famous.

At 28, I learned to run for a long time without throwing up, how to cook with a dutch oven, and how to throw a party with Goodwill items only. I learned how to save lives, how to not cry when I really want to, and how to be polite when I really don’t want to. I learned how to swim long distances in the ocean and that cars really do need regular oil changes. I also learned that my AT&T roadside assistance really works.

At 28, I was surprised by a proposal from a good friend with a good ring, tried to say yes and had to say no.  At 28 I realized that I’m a much nicer person when I eat and sleep on time, that I can’t stay awake for late-night movies, and that being afraid of things is a waste of time. I also started dating a man named Andy who should feature more in my blog once we actually live on the same island.

At 28, I spent the last terribly wonderful times with my mom and then said goodbye. I’m pretty confident that 29 will be better than 28 because so far every year has been better than the last. Harder. But better. Onward and upward! Bravely!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Twenty-Right.

  1. Karisa says:

    Love your blog, friend. Excited to do life in the same place for your 29th year. 🙂

  2. Cher says:

    I’m so excited to see you in a few weeks!

  3. Hope your 2012 is full of wonderful surprises!

  4. Scott Keen says:

    Wow, what a great time of life. Enjoy it. You have PLENTY of time…

  5. […] 2012 Resolutions are also my 29th year Resolutions. This year I took a good hard look at 2011 and 28 and decided I can do better. Not because I failed terribly last year, but because every year should […]

Leave a Reply

