It Was a Good Day

As promised, an embarrassment of photos. You have my permission to scroll quickly. It’s just another wedding blog. But it was MY wedding. How crazy is that.

Mom’s dress from June thirty-one years ago. Perfect fit.

Last minute choices from a dainty array of heirlooms.

My something blue from Grandmomie Carol…little sapphire earrings.

I won’t devote the rest of my blogs to wedding reminiscing but I will say that I unashamedly reveled in the best day of my life.

We had a wonderful little cottage on the ranch to use for the ready and waiting spot.

One of my favorites with my favorite sisters.

Joining the marrieds.

They were the best bridesmaids I could have asked for. A twin sister, a little sister, a hair-dresser best friend that gave me any sense of style I may have today, a best friend from 1st grade, a pen-pal from middle school that turned into a real life best friend, and a missionary roommate that prayed me through nursing school.

I tried to enjoy every moment but at this point I was close to sprinting down the aisle.

One of my photographers had this fun idea. I think she’s good at what she does, what do you think? http://www.rebeccaarthursblog.com

The boys had some fun getting ready too. Please note the Aussie pose. Without fail.

had no idea how deliriously happy and exhilarated I would feel. It felt like a combination of winning a contest, taking a bow at the end of a Broadway musical, and having a surprise party thrown by all your best friends in your honor.

Papa Paul – the best man. Rog comes from a long line of handsome and good natured.

Sam and the final brother-in-law.

Australian-American Lesson #59: Boutonnieres are put on upside down. Both ways looks pretty good. Also, for the record, Mama Leanne is a former model and is positively stunning.

The Maid of Honor definitely found those yellow ties the day before the wedding. Lindsey saved the day about 500 times in one month. That’s like 16.6 times a day.

Saying yes to this guy was a breeze.

It was perfect. Sunny and misty.

We used one of Mom’s songs for the processional and Sara and Ryan sang some beautiful hymns during communion.

Sister Sara’s daughters were my flowergirls. Sometimes I stare at this photo and wonder how it is possible for kids to be this stinking cute.

Merry Married Mitsudas.

I know I should have expected my wedding to be great but I was surprised by the level of greatness. Seriously. Heaven celebrated with us. I’m not making that up.

Roger’s crates that we feminized. Also, can you believe those flowers? Those are thanks to Maid Of Honor’s Mama Linda.

Photographer Eric captured many of these images including this promise over our celebration. http://www.efrankevisuals.com

Worth. Every. Penny.

And this guy was the one who got me here. Had me, raised me, prayed me through the wait, paid me through the wedding, and remains the best dad I could ask for.

And this is the one I get to spend the rest of my days with. Happily Ever After.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “It Was a Good Day

  1. Claire Koenig says:

    Beautiful. Sweet. Romantic. Precious. Wonderful. OK, I’ll stop. Thanks for sharing! Makes me feel as if I were there.

  2. Loved seeing ALL the pixs, didn’t know you wore your mom’s dress, i know she was watching from heaven with the biggest smile!!!!

  3. mummabeaso says:

    A deliriously delightful day. One with a promise for a future. A future of promise living under the shelter of The Most High. A life lived in love with your best friend on earth. And a big family who desires the best for you.

    But the wedding day. Well seriously we did have our heads in the clouds. Literally! Just where we wanted to be. He rained on us and the people smiled. The sky laughed through it’s rainbow with us as we praised God and celebrated you marrying our Roger.

    Wouldn’t change a moment. We were all so blessed to share your day. And to meet your beautiful family and friends. To be loved on by them and to share their love of both of you.

    And complements to your awesome photographers who captured some precious moments of your day.

    Much love XX

  4. Katie O says:

    Absolutely breathtaking Erin! O my yes sweet friend heaven was absolutely celebrating!X

  5. Callie says:

    Not only did you wear your mom’s dress, but it was gorgeous and you looked gorgeous in it?! What a dream 🙂 we actually cut up my mom’s wedding dress to make the ring pillow because even she admitted nobody should ever wear it again! But ok, you got me with tears streaming off my face. Where’s that kleenex?….

  6. Gorgeous. Absolutely stunning. And I LOVE that you wore your mom’s dress and looked so beautiful in it. I’m sorry that I missed your day, but seeing this kinda (but not really) made up for it!

  7. EROSE says:

    I never understood posting wedding photos until I got married. Now I love reliving the best day of my life on photos! And your wedding looks like it was beautiful!

  8. Amy says:

    Absolutely beautiful. I would say Heaven definitely celebrated with you! So happy for you Erin — and Roger too, he’s a lucky guy 🙂

  9. Jen says:

    So lovely. I am blessed beyond belief that I got to be a part of this day!!!

Leave a Reply

