Hometown Heroes

So I’m sitting in a room with 14 people last night and someone says “I bet no one here knew they would be in Hawaii when they were in high school”. Wait, I did. Wait, I’m the only one here who did most of her growing up in Hawaii and has her Facebook hometown set as Kona (because that’s what really counts right?). How did this happen? Almost all of my current friends are recent transplants which means that they are also going to move on sooner or later. I still love them. Hawaii is like that. It attracts people like no other state can but it could really work on its retention rate if you ask me.

But then I go home to Kona and there are some faces that I’ve seen for more than half my life….and some that I’ve seen my whole life….and even a new generation.

And I remember that I have a heritage. We have started something here bigger than ourselves and we are fighting and rejoicing and loving our way through the days we’ve been given. We started as six and now we are 600 down at a little church by the water.  And this family is sticking around for the duration.

God’s doing some great things in my hometown…and my state. And I can’t wait to be part of it every day.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Hometown Heroes

  1. Megan says:

    Awesome! So sweet that you can be a part of the legacy your family is leaving behind!

  2. katie johnson says:

    Can I come live in Kona with your family?:)

Leave a comment